History of Novgorod
Architectural Monuments
Permanent Exhibitions
Women Profiles
Search By ID
Order Addresses Now
St.Petersburg/Novgorog Tour
Tour Dates and Prices
Reservation Form

Museums :
Architectural Monuments ][ Collections ][ Permanent Exhibitions  ][ Branches ][ Holydays ]

Old Russian Iconography of the 16th and 17th Centuries

Exposition 'Old Russian Iconography' In 1911 the Fifteenth Archaeological Congress was held in Novgorod. This was an important event gathering leading Russian humanitarian scholars. They became the first to see the collection of Novgorod icons, collected from defunct monasteries and churches. The first exposition was a huge success.

Nowadays the collection numbers about 120 icons from the 11th--17th centuries, magnificent in their artistic execution and wonderfully restored. No other museum can offer such a brilliant selection of Novgorod icons, starting with a masterpiece in the Byzantine style, the two-meter icon "Peter and Paul" from St. Sophia Cathedral (11th century), to the image of "The Savior" by the priest Euphemy, made as late as 1685. The time between these polar dates gave us such wonders as "Nikola Lipny" by master Alexa Petrov, one of the first signed icons of those days (1294), icons of the 14th century such as "Boris and Gleb," "Christ's Shroud," "Annunciation with Fyodor Tyron," "The Battle of the Novgorod Troops with the Suzdalians" (Miracle with the Icon "Virgin of the Sign" from the 1460s), one of the first Russian icons painted on a historical subject; miniature "tablet" icons unique in their exquisite and refined execution; the so-called hagiography icons (15th - 16th centuries), depicting lives of saints and martyrs; rows of icons taken from icon-stands of St. Sophia and Rozhdestvensky cathedrals, the church of St. Peter and Paul in Kozhevniki and the church of the Assumption on Volotovo Field.

Alexa Petrov. Icon "St. Nicholas." 1294. From the church of Nikola on the Lipna

Icon "The Savior on the Throne." 16th century. From the Church of Peter and Paul in Kozheveniki

[ Back to Museums ]
© 2003-2007